My bathroom

Okay – I understand that bathrooms are not the most exciting place in the home but I wanted to share anyway.  There are three full bathrooms in the new house that get regular use.  The first floor bathroom gets heavy traffic with all of our respite guests, the kids all share the second floor bathroom and we have our own bathroom off our suite.  This is our first floor bathroom.  Not minimalist but not cluttered either.  I have found time and time again that it’s easier to clean when you have less stuff.  This is especially important in the bathroom.  I’ve never known my husband to clean a bathroom and I hate to clean so here is how I make it work.  I keep a stack of washclothes on the back of the toilet and encourage their use.  When a kid uses the washcloth they drop it on the floor by the door.  I swoop them up when I do our laundry.  I also use the washclothes when there are any signs of dirt – toilet seats, sink, mirrors, baseboards, light switch.  The washcloth gets dropped onto the pile on the floor and then gets washed in hot water.  Occasionally some hand soap is added for the messier tasks.

First signs of dirt or mess are easier to clean then set in dirt.  A quick swipe and we are good – there’s rarely need for a lengthy scrubbing session.  I spray down the shower after use with an all purpose cleaner and clean the toilet (several times a week) by squirting in lysol toilet bowl cleaner and let it hang out in there while the kids are at school.

bathroom 6 bathroom 2 bathroom 1

Not too much frills or extras but a definate owl theme.

bathroom 3 bathroom 4 bathroom 5

  • Framed flower picture
  • 2 white hand towels with pink stripes and 1 green hand towel with owl
  • Fabric Owl print shower curtain with owl shower curtain hooks and a shower curtain liner
  • carpet cleaner because you know everyone keeps this in their bathroom.
  • Blind for window
  • behind the vanity mirror with tampons and pads (always keep a few handy for those too embarassed to ask), toothpaste, outlet safety plugs, peroxide, dixie cups, handsoap (in a ghost bottle), body wash, shampoo/conditioner
  • Owl wastebasket, toilet brush
  • green hand towel, stack of wash clothes
  • Under the sink with 2 burgandy bath towels, 1 blue bath towel, toilet paper, shampoo, conditioner, baby shampoo, toddler toilet seat.
  • hand soap, glade plug in with lemonade scent
  • owl rug

I do not keep cleaners in the bathroom due to the ages of children we get.  I would hate for a child to get under the sink and get hurt from cleaners.  My husband sweeps and mops so I do not worry about doing this.

Leave a Reply

