On the Menu!

Typically I write about my food adventures after I’ve tasted the food but I fear I won’t have time to write later today as I’m celebrating my sister’s birthday with her at my brother’s home with is about 45 minutes away.

Today’s specials are:

  1. cheesy chicken with rice
  2. quinoa with vegetables

Last night I made what i thought was going to be a delicious cheesy chicken with rice but I was WRONG!  I put 3 cups of rice and 6 cups of water in the rice cooker and added mixed vegetable seasonings and Maggi Chicken Bouillon (the best bouillon ever).  In the steamer basket I added broccoli, carrots and celery.  I mixed it all together with 2 cups italian blend cheese, about 2 cups of pulled apart chicken and some Lipton Savory Herb with Garlic soup mix.  gotta say i was disappointed – all i could taste was broccoli and garlic.  mostly garlic.

tonight is take 2 – i went searching on the internet for a cheesy chicken with rice recipe and found something close to what I want at Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate site.  Her picture of the dish looks like what I wanted to eat.  Yum.  I am changing though.  Here’s my plans.

  • 3 cups rice/ 4 cups chicken broth/ 2 cups water in the rice cooker
  • 3 cans white chunk chicken as I don’t feel like cooking more chicken.
  • clancy’s cheesemelt (aldi’s version of Velveeta – definately an acceptable substitute – yum) – undecided amount
  • 2 cans of corn
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup (hopefully the aldi brand tastes good – i prefer campbell’s)

I am cooking the rice now.  I plan on browning up the rice a bit in a fry pan with a little butter and poultry seasoning.  I’m going to mix it all together and put it in a cook pot for dinner tonight.

Next up to cook is the quinoa with mixed veggies.

as soon as the rice cooker is available i’m altering a recipe i found at a Quinoa website.

Here is the original recipe:

QUINOA PILAF 1/2 cup carrot, diced                             6  cups quinoa, cooked (basic recipe) 1/2 cup green onion, diced                   1/4  cup olive oil 1/4 cup celery,  diced                            2  cloves garlic, crushed 1/4 cup green pepper, diced                    1  cup almonds, sliced 1/4 cup sweet red pepper, diced           1/4  tsp oregano salt to taste
Sauté chopped vegetables in olive oil until clear, yet crisp: stir in oregano. Add sautéed vegetables to cooked, hot quinoa, mixing well. Add salt to taste. Dry-roast almonds in heavy skillet until lightly golden. Add almonds and mix. Serves 6-8. Quinoa pilaf served as a side dish with fish or chicken is delicious. Vary the pilaf using your favorite vegetables, or by cooking the quinoa in chicken, fish or vegetable stock instead of water.

Since i rarely ever make a recipe as is here is my plan.

  • 6 cups quinoa cooked in vegetable broth
  • carrot
  • garlic
  • celery
  • eggplant
  • broccoli
  • olive oil

I’m leaving out the green onion and the peppers.  the green onion because i forgot to buy it and the peppers because i don’t think my sister likes them.

 

Leave a Reply

