Snowed in with Breakfast Crepes

We were supposed to be celebrating my sister’s birthday today but Mother Nature had other plans.  Thick, heavy snow has been falling for a few hours now.  It’s very pretty but a plan wrecker none the less.  My quinoa pilaf and cheesy chicken and rice will have to wait.

I taught my daughter how to make crepes instead.  technically though she didn’t learn much as she was more interested in eating them than making them and would only return to the kitchen when a hot crepe was released from the frying pan.

Here’s our recipe –

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1 stick of butter melted
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar
  • couple shakes of salt

We mixed it all together with our hand blender and I hit the container against the counter top a few times to release some of the air bubbles.  It’s works best though if you let the batter sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes or more but I’m impatient.  as there is so much butter in the batter you shouldn’t need any while cooking.

A crepe pan isn’t necessary.  a small non stick frying pan works just as well.  I always remove the pan from the heat and pour some batter in and swirl it around.  the thinner you can get it the better the results.  cook until you can slide it easily with a spatula and then flip.

My daughter loves her with nutella.  i can’t get her to eat it any other way.  I tried mine this morning with cheese and chicken.

the batter will keep for a short while in the fridge so don’t feel you need to make them all up at once.  if you do have left over crepes they can be refrigerated and reheated.  I made 3 for each of us including the dog. (plain crepe for him).

I made a Hollandaise sauce to go with it but took one taste and dumped it.  – i guess i didn’t know what hollandaise sauce tasted like  but I wasn’t impressed.

anyway here is the recipe i used – maybe that is the problem?

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 stick of butter – melted and very hot.

used my trusty hand blender – looked yummy, pale yellow and creamy.  tasted like a lemony, buttery heart attack waiting to happen.  dumped and rinsed before i could convince myself it was worth eating.

on the plus side – i used the egg whites to make scrambled eggs which were the perfect compliment to my yummy crepes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

