Green Smoothie and Hungry for Change

So i tried my first green smoothie today!  it looks kind of gross but tastes surprisingly refreshing and yummy.

IMG_0367

here is what I added:

  • spinach and romaine
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • vanilla yogurt
  • flaxseed meal
  • little bit of water

I blended it all together with my new hand blender and drank it up.

I’m sold.

Here is a website I’m sure to come back to:  30 Delicious Green Smoothie Recipes

 

Hungry for Change

I was looking for a documentary to watch so I surfed through Netflix and found Hungry for Change.  This movie is a world changing way I look at food type of movie.  I loved it and want to watch it again.

Sugar is my drug and apparently many people’s drug.  Now there is a handful of food additives that I am more likely to avoid – aspartame, high fructose corn syrup, MSG and sugar.  the crazy thing is that many of these foods are addictive, high calorie and nutritionally void.  so in other words we eat and eat and eat and our bodies continue to be hungry while we get fatter.

a helpful bit of advice in this film is to think about getting healthier by changing the mindset: “I want that but I can’t have it” to “I can have it but I don’t want it”  Another piece of wisdom this film offers is to not think about taking things away or depriving yourself but instead add the healthy options in so eventually the healthy items take up more than the unhealthy ones and then eventually you’ll have no room for the unhealthy ones.

I’m going to try this part from the movie – while looking into my eyes through the use of a mirror I will say, “I accept myself unconditionally right now”  I will say this every day until I believe it and live it.

Here are the rest of the notes I jotted down from the film:

Helpful detoxifying foods:

Parsley, Cilantro, Aloe vera, Chia seeds

Veggies good in vegetable juices

Celery, Cucumber, Dark green leafy vegetables such as kale, spirulina, radishes, coconut products

People in Hungry for change:

Mike Adams – natural news, Jason Vale – Juice Master, Joe Cross – fat, sick and nearly dead, Kris Carr – crazy sexy cancer and crazy sexy diet, David Wolfe, Daniel Vitalis, Dr. Christiane Northrup – women’s bodies, women’s wisdom, Jon Gabriel – the Gabriel method, Frank Ferrante – may I be frank, Dr. Alejandro Junger – Clean, Dr. Joseph Mercola, Evita rampart

I definately plan on looking them all up to learn more.

Books to read:

Diets don’t work, Clean, 7 lbs in 7 days, The funky fresh juice book, Turbo Charge your life in 14 days, Keeping it Simple! Over 100 juice and smoothie recipes, What the World Eats, The Gabriel Method

Leave a Reply

