The Girl in the Gatehouse

So I got myself hooked into a romance novel. Here and there I’ll read a romance novel if it catches my attention.  I don’t know exactly why The Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen caught it but I’m happy that it did.  Embarassed to admit it but I devoured this book in one evening.  Couldn’t stop reading – helped that I wasn’t feeling good and sleep was evading me.

I rather enjoyed this book.  I really liked Miss Aubrey as she was interesting and kind.  I really loved how she didn’t mope about drolling on about her losses.  She was likeable, she had talents, she was nice to her servants.  The captain was also very likeable and I enjoyed the other characters as well.  as far as her scandal goes?  even though it wasn’t “fair” she handled it well – not passing off blame though she could have, not whining, not acting the victim.

Here is the book’s description.
Miss Mariah Aubrey, banished after a scandal, hides herself away in a long-abandoned gatehouse on the far edge of a distant relative’s estate. There, she supports herself and her loyal servant the only way she knows how–by writing novels in secret.
Captain Matthew Bryant, returning to England successful and wealthy after the Napoleonic wars, leases an impressive estate from a cash-poor nobleman, determined to show the society beauty who once rejected him what a colossal mistake she made. When he discovers an old gatehouse on the property, he is immediately intrigued by its striking young inhabitant and sets out to uncover her identity, and her past.
But the more he learns about her, the more he realizes he must distance himself. Falling in love with an outcast would ruin his well-laid plans. The old gatehouse holds secrets of its own. Can Mariah and Captain Bryant uncover them before the cunning heir to the estate buries them forever?
Leave a Reply

