Easy Outdoor Fun

My daughter loves playing outside.  I on the other hand hate it prefer the indoors.  I’m starting to find happiness in outdoor activities and wanted to share some of my favorite outdoor activities.

1.  Bubbles

Homemade bubble solution – gently mix the ingredients to prevent foaming.  distilled water works best but any water will do.

  • 1 cup Dawn dish soap
  • 10 cups water
  • 10 drops glycerin (bought in the pharmacy department)

Many different things can be used as a bubble wand – pipe cleaners, looped ribbon, etc.  I use bubble wands saved from purchased bubbles.

Here’s a link to – Homemade Bubble Solutions.  Many good recipes.  I got my recipe from The Bubble Time guys.  My daughter and I saw these guys live and it was great.  if you look them up on YouTube they have bubble workshops to teach you how to make great bubbles.

If you don’t feel like making your own bubbles I’ve found it helpful to add some dawn dish soap to store bought bubbles.  It makes for bigger, stronger bubbles.

2.  Baking soda volcanoes

This was a fantastic activity for my daughter and several of her friends.  I brought out the supplies and asked them what they thought would happen.

Supplies needed – some are optional

  • vinegar
  • baking soda
  • assorted containers
  • measuring spoons
  • funnel
  • food dye
  • dish soap
  • tissues

now if you are creative a google search will give you many recipes on how to make a paper mache volcano.  I used various containers instead (soda bottle, wide mouth jar, a cup).  We experimented with different combinations until we got the desired result.  I definately would recommend this activity for outside as it’s very messy.  We even tried a baking soda “bomb” by wrapping up a pile of baking soda in a tissue and dropping it into a large amount of vinegar.

3.  Water Play

We have a tote full of various items that are meant to get wet.  there are the spongy balls, water shooters, a sprinkler, her new water table and more.  Last summer I would accidently miss watering the garden and water the kids instead.  They LOVED it.

4.  Family Garden

We have a garden – last year we planted our first garden.  It wasn’t successful as far as yield goes but it was a good experience.  This year we are working on another garden.  We picked out the seeds together, planted them in sead starters together and will watch them grow together.  Every day new things can be found in a family garden.

 

 

Leave a Reply

