Number of things in my living room

I’ve always been fasinated by people who are minimalists.  If you’ve read any of my blog you’ll know that I’m more of a hoarder than minimalist but I have the desire to downsize.  Just out of shear curiousity I decided to count the number of items in my living room (in a non-compulsory, imperfect way).  I’ve worked really hard in my living room and have gotten it to a place where I am comfortable in it.  We’ve gotten rid of tons of stuff from this room.  It feels open and usable which is the way a living room should feel.

I did not count the little area that is just off of the living room though it may be considered part of the room?  I don’t know.

What I found interesting is that there is a large number of items on the walls alone.  Including the two smoke alarms, the blinds and the curtain rod (no curtains) there are 20 items on the walls.  There are 13 picture frames on the wall.  It really doesn’t feel like that many items are hanging up. (TV is also hanging up – did not count the wall mount or the cords).

There is 6 pieces of furniture in my living room though it does not feel like this much.  There is the couch and recliner. There is also the gaming shelves and the television stand that doesn’t have a television on it.  Behind the couch is a folding table that we use instead of a coffee table (we started out with two coffee tables in this room – both gifts).  Behind the recliner is a folding child’s chair that my daughter loves.

The picture looks cluttered I know but it works for us right now.  Here is where the majority of our items are in our living room.  18 items for the game systems (if you count assorted cords as one item), 48 games combined for the systems, an all in one printer. a tv remote, 3 movies in their cases and then a small pile of dvds without cases, the two vases with my anniversary flowers and 6 candles (down from over 30 when I started).

Also in the living room is our pet section – the dog’s items (crate, bedding – 4 items, wicker basket with 10 toys and a sweater and a container of dog treats.) and then the cat’s items (her tower and 14 small toys inside).

If you include the rotating fan and the quilt over the recliner it adds up quickly.

  • 20 wall items
  • 6 furniture items
  • 118 assorted items (gaming stuff, tv stuff, vases, candles, etc)

Which adds up to 142 items total for one room.  crazy isn’t it?

I think what makes it not seem so bad is that 82 of these items pictured in the first photo and then 35 pictured in the second and these areas take up relatively little space in the largest room of our room.

I found this exercise to be interesting and eye opening.  I am happy with the items in this room.  There are cosmetic fixes such as minor patch work to the walls and a new coat of paint.  eventually we are going to replace the carpet and the trimwork to the doorways.  I could only imagine how many items were in this room before I found flylady, Clean House and then Miss Minimalist.  I don’t think I even want to know.  (two more bookshelves, a nintendo, super nintendo, 64, sega genesis, playstation 2 – tons of games to go with those systems, board games, and quite a bit more – as Niecy Nash would say – Mayhem and foolishness!)

Finished Living Room! (does the cat count in the number?)

I hope you enjoyed a personal glance into my progress.  No longer the living room of a hoarder.  Look at all that floor space!!!!!!!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Some before glimpses | The Power of 15

  2. This is such progress! Congratulations and keep up the great work! And I would swear up and down I’m not a hoader, but I DO have two coffee tables, one right next to another, so your post about that really hit home and motivated me for antiprocrastination day!

    • haha, antiprocrastination day stresses me out. With ADHD there are always things I’m procrastinating on. I need an antiprocrastination month. The two coffee tables seem really normal until an outsider comments on it – that’s what happened to me. “Two coffee table? hmmm.”

Leave a Reply

