Birthday Party!

My husband just celebrated his birthday this week.  He wanted to invite people over for a cook out and of course I said yes.  Typically this is a high stress thing for me but I noticed that I was not too worried about it.  Normally I would try to make too many different things to eat and drink and then go crazy preparing.  I kept it simple – meat for the grill.  I pre-cooked the chicken the night before and covered it with a marinade so all my husband needed to do was heat it up on the grill.  I kept the sides to 3 – a fruit salad, salt potatoes and cut up veggies (broccoli, celery and baby carrots).  I limited the drink choices to two – sun tea and a punch.

The house needed to be cleaned for the party.  Typically this would be a massive cleaning session which would involve stashing and dashing of all the clutter.  We’ve been decluttering daily to get ready for our upcoming yard sale.  I’ve been pricing and boxing up as I go and the husband has been taking the finished boxes out to the shed.  I realized that with much of the clutter gone cleaning is much easier.  The day of the party we just had to clean the bathrooms (which were already looking good from the zone cleaning), wash up the dishes, quickly mop the kitchen and relax.

The day before my husband clean up the family room quickly by putting items in the closet and out in the shed.  This wouldn’t have been possible had I not gotten things sorted.  While he slept though I focused on the kitchen.  I felt great about this process because I finally felt ready to let things go like the extra slow cooker, the cookie cutters that we never use, extra baking sheets and more.  I sorted through the spices and the baking items.  When he woke up he was impressed with how clean the kitchen was.

Leave a Reply

