Minimalist book spurs on renewed decluttering

I found this wonderful little gem of a book last night while browsing through Amazon’s kindle store.  I’m always skeptical of anything cheap (but I love a bargain of course) and this book was priced at $0.99.  I started reading through the preview and before I knew it I was out of pages and completely hooked.  I bought it and immediately put it on my ereader.  easy to read, useful advice, down to earth and completely doable.  I will never be a minimalist but I can relate to her and use her musings to help create my home sanctuary.

Miss Minimalist: Inspiration to Downsize, Declutter, and Simplify by Francine Jay (Kindle Edition – May 25, 2011) – Kindle eBook

I think what attracts me the most to a minimalist lifestyle is the simplicity of it all.  Everything feels so chaotic and I misplace everything.  less stuff means less stuff to lose, less hiding places for my (insert whatever important item I am currently missing) and less stuff to clean.

I found myself reading a section and then pondering.  thinking, visualizing.  it’s pulling together and I’m optimistic.

Tomorrow is the last day in Zone 1: The Entrance, Front Porch and Dining Room.

I worked in the entrance today.  It’s amazing because I’ve already spent time in here since starting this project and still more items could be pulled out.  some new but most was there during my last session.  A large garbage bag sits ready to go outside to the trash.  coats hung back up and plastic shopping bags contained for the upcoming yard sale.  a handful of items placed in the yardsale tote.  There are things my husband will have to sort through – the tote of tools, some outside stuff.  Here are a few items that I’m undecided about: 1. the punch bowl with cups.  I brought this home months ago and we haven’t even taken it out of the box.  It was a freebie and I really wanted it.  It sits on the shelf. 2. the hummingbird feeder.  We’ve filled it twice.  I’m too short to put it up or take it down.  It wasn’t washed and has some funkiness to it.  When we used it hummingbirds and bees frequented often which we could admire from our kitchen window.

Even though we aren’t outdoorsy people our camping gear is stored here up on the shelf but we’ve pared down to a reasonable amount of items. 3 sleeping bags, an air mattress, a tent and a lantern.  When we travel all but the tent are used so I don’t feel so bad holding on to these items.  Everything else is already gone.  Most of my daughter’s outdoor items were already moved to the shed so only a handful remain in this space.  Our laundry supplies are also housed here as it’s our laundry room as well.  It’s better.  Tomorrow I’ll sweep, mop and clean to finish off this room.

I also spent some time in the kitchen because the dining area is always kept up.  Miss Minimalist helped so much in this area as did my husband.  cookie cutters purged by half, the extra crock pot will be leaving, our 4 wine glasses as well (this includes our wedding glasses – pictures first before the purge).  The blender too will be leaving.  It’s used about twice a year and I hate to clean it.  Kitchen drawers emptied and filled with only what we use.  The bottle of wine I didn’t like?  down the drain.  the wine glass charms? gone.

Thank you Miss Minimalist!

Leave a Reply

