Using zone cleaning for yard sale prep

Yard sales require organization, goal setting, people skills and the ability to price things accurately.  which means, with my ADHD, I’m scrambling around even after the sale has started pricing things and setting things up.  It usually means I’ve forgotten to place the ad in the paper until 3 days before.  It usually means I underestimate the time it takes to sort and decide what to sell and what to keep.  It also means I question and doubt every price I put on items.

To put it mildly I despise yard sales.  Why are we planning to have one?  Because it works.  It works for the three of us to part with our STUFF.  I’ve learned that there are BIG TICKET items we want and if I dangle these items in front of our faces and say, “Let’s have a yard sale!” that it gets done.

Here is our wishlist:

 

Maybe having the pictures handy will make it easier to motivate.

The first part of my yard sale plan – the ADHD friendly plan.  Here is how I’m going to prepare for the yard sale this year.  The following list is the zones as determined by Fly Lady.

  • Zone 1: The Entrance, Front Porch and Dining Room (April 1-7)
  • Zone 2: The Kitchen (April 8-14)
  • Zone 3: The Bathroom and One Extra Room (April 15-21)
  • Zone 4: The Master Bedroom (April 22-28)
  • Zone 5: The Living Room (April 29-30)

I’m going to tackle each zone in turn searching for yard sale items.  As I find them I’ll clean and price them then put it out in the shed for the yard sale.  (at the very least I’ll find them and put them outside.)  We’ve been talking about having the yard sale in May so if I do a little bit each week and then have my mom help me with the family room I might just be ready.

Wish me luck!

Definately a site I’m going to reference again for yard sale prep:  http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog/2007/06/12/a-yard-sale-checklist-ten-tips-for-garage-sale-prep/

Leave a Reply

